TOO highlights Morfydd Clark’s Galadriel

|

In just over two weeks, Amazon’s Prime Video and the showrunners JD Payne & patrick mckayit is The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power hits streaming screens with a two-episode world premiere (we’ll talk more about that in a minute). As the promotional machine continues, the streamer is releasing what we hope will be the first in a series of mini-character profile teasers highlighting the main cast members of the series as the actors portraying them have the opportunity to give their opinion about them. . For this go-around, the spotlights are on Morfydd Clark (Dracula, his dark matters) and his elven warrior Galadriel.

Image: Amazon

Here’s a look at what Clark had to share about what viewers can expect from Galadriel starting next month:

Amazon announced this week that the first two episodes will air on September 1 and 2 (depending on time zone), with the rest of the season airing weekly with a single episode. To give fans around the world a chance to experience the series together, the episode will launch globally at the same time. Now, here’s a preview of how it’s going to work:

Information on the release of the first two-episode series: 6 p.m. PDT — Thursday, September 1; 9 p.m. EDT – Thursday, September 1; 10 p.m. Brazil — Thursday, September 1; 2am UK – Friday September 2; 3:00 a.m. Central European Summer Time—Friday, September 2; 5:30 a.m. India Standard Time—Friday, September 2; 10:00 a.m. Japan Standard Time—Friday, September 2; 11 a.m. Australia — Friday, September 2; and 1 p.m. New Zealand – Friday, September 2.

Information on the release of the remaining episodes: 9 p.m. PDT — Thursday; 12:00 p.m. EDT — Fridays; 1 a.m. Brazil—Friday; 5am ​​UK – Fridays; 6:00 a.m. CEST – Fridays; 9:30 a.m. IST – Fridays; 1:00 p.m. JST — Fridays; 2:00 p.m. AU — Fridays; 4 p.m. NZ – Friday.

Kicking off on September 2, here’s a sneak peek at SDCC’s epic trailer released last month:

Amazon Studios’ upcoming series brings to screens the heroic legends of Middle-earth’s legendary Second Age history for the very first time. This epic drama is set thousands of years before the events of The Hobbit and JRR Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, and will take viewers back to a time when great powers were forged, kingdoms rose to glory and fell to ruin. , unlikely heroes were tested, hope hung on the thinnest of threads, and the greatest villain to ever spring from Tolkien’s pen threatened to cover the whole world in darkness.

Beginning in a time of relative peace, the series follows a cast of characters, both familiar and new, as they confront the dreaded re-emergence of evil in Middle-earth. From the darkest depths of the Misty Mountains, to the majestic forests of the elven capital of Lindon, to the breathtaking island kingdom of Númenor, to the far reaches of the map, these kingdoms and characters will carve out legacies that will last long after. they left.

Recently, McKay shared some details with Empire about how they approach being compared to peter jackson‘s as well as these other fantastic shows (HBO’s game of thrones prequel series Dragon House will also be released around the same time):

So how do you measure up to Jackson’s films? You do not…: “Anyone who approaches ‘The Lord of the Rings’ on screen would be wrong not to think how right Jackson was. But we are admirers from afar, that’s all. ‘The Rings Of Power’ doesn’t try to compete with him,” McKay explained (LOTR: TOO MUCH takes place in the Second Age, not the Third Age like Jackon’s works).

McKay shares key difference between LOTR and other fantasy properties (like ‘Game of Thrones’): “You can force yourself to follow the Joneses, but one of the mantras about it was ‘go back to the source’. What would Tolkien do?” McKay offered, before revealing the “secret weapon” that elevates them above the rest. “Some of these other competing properties – they play an octave really beautifully. But Tolkien played every note on the piano. He had this variety of tones. There’s the whimsy and the friendship and the humor that Harry Potter is so beloved for. – but there’s sophistication, politics, history, mythology and depth too. So for us, it was about digging deeper into who we are, rather than worrying about what other people are doing,” he said. added.

“It’s a title that we imagine could live on the back of a book alongside Tolkien’s other classics. The Rings of Power brings together all the major stories of the Second Age of Middle-earth: the forging of rings, the rise of the Dark Lord. Sauron, the epic tale of Númenor, and the last alliance of elves and men,” Payne & McKay said when the title of the highly anticipated series was first announced. “Until now, audiences have only seen the story of the One Ring on screen – but before there was one, there were many…and we’re thrilled to share everyone’s epic story.”

New stories will take place before JRR Tolkien“The Fellowship of the Ring” and seek to focus on the “Second Age” – a time when the Rings of Power were first revealed. “JRR Tolkien has created one of the most extraordinary and inspiring stories of all time, and as a lifelong fan, it’s an honor and a joy to join this incredible team. I look forward to taking the audiences around the world in Middle-earth and introduce them to the wonders of the Second Age, with an untold story,” Bayona explained when the news broke.

Promotional screenshot image from The Lord of the Rings series video (Image: Amazon Prime Video)
Promotional screenshot image from The Lord of the Rings series video (Image: Amazon Prime Video)

Robert Aramayo, Owain Arthur, Nazanin Boniadi, Tom Budge, Morfydd Clark, Ismael Cruz Córdova, Ema Horvath, Markella Kavenagh, Joseph Mawle, Tyroe Muhafidin, Sophia Nomvete, Megan Richards, Dylan Smith, Charlie Vickers, Daniel Weyman, Maxim Baldry, Lenny Henry, Pierre Mullan, Lloyd Owen, Auguste Prew, Pierre Tait, Benjamin Walker, Cynthia Addai-Robinson, Simon Merrels, Maxime Baldry, Ian Blackburn, Kip Chapman, Anthony Crum, Maxine Cunliffe, Trystan Gravelle, Thusitha Jayasundera, Fabien McCallum, Geoff Morel, Alex Tarant, Leon Wadham, Sara Zwangobani, Charles Edwards, Will Fletcher, Amélie Child-Villiers, Handsome Cassidyand Tyroe Muhafidin star.

Automatic draft
Image: Amazon

from Amazon the Lord of the Rings the series’ creative team roster includes Amazon’s former gender manager Sharon Tal Yguado as good as Lindsey Weber (10 Cloverfield Lane), Bruce Richmond (game of thrones), Gene Kelly (Boardwalk Empire), Tal Yguadowriter/executive producer Gennifer Hutchison (breaking Bad); writer/executive producer Jason Cahill (The Sopranos), writer/executive producer Justin Doble (stranger things), consulting producer Stephanie Folsom, producer Ron Ames, screenwriter and co-producer Helen Chang, and editorial consultant Glenise Mullins. Bayona will serve as executive producer alongside her partner. Belen Atienza. Payne and McKay are developing the series and serving as showrunners, with Bryan Cogman (game of thrones) as a consultant. JA Bayona is set to direct the first two episodes. Amazon Studios produces, in collaboration with Tolkien Estate and Trust, HarperCollins and New Line Cinema. Composer of the Oscar-winning “Lord of the Rings” trilogy Howard Shore composed the main theme of the title. In addition, Bear McCreary (Battlestar Galactica, The Walking Dead) composed the full score for the series.

Posted in: Amazon Studios, The Lord of the Rings, Preview, Streaming, Trailer, TV | Tagged: amazon, lord of the rings, preview, prime video, rings of power, trailer

Did you like it? Please share on social media!

Robert M. Larson